Friends of Atwood Primary, site logo.

The Committee 2017/2018

All parents, carers, teachers and friends of Atwood are welcome to attend as many meetings as they like without being “on the Friends Of” committee. 


Current Officers (2017/2018)


  • Chair - Claire Henderson

  • Deputy Chair - Ray Popeley

  • Secretary - Kim O’Toole

  • Treasurer - Sal Moody 


  •  General Committee Member - Elaine Iceton
  • General Committee Member - Liz Spence
  • General Committee Member - Gareth Simkins 
  • General Committee Member - Vicki Rudman
  • General Committee Member - Kamila Whiston


The Committee meet monthly during term time, plus there may be further smaller working groups, as necessary, to organise our bigger events.

Committee roles and responsibilities

The key elements of the structure of the association are the:

  • constitution (governing document)
  • members
  • committee
  • trustees



All associations need a constitution. This is a document which establishes the fundamental rules by which the association is governed and describes:

  • the aims of the association and its powers 

  • its membership

  • the size of the committee and how members are elected 

  • the need for an annual audit and general meeting



A committee is a team of volunteers who are elected at the association’s Annual General Meeting (AGM) to manage the association on behalf of the members. There are two types of committee member, Officer and Ordinary (or Other) member.  Officers have specific roles such as Chair, Treasurer and/or Secretary.  Ordinary Committee Members play a vital role working alongside and supporting the Officers.

All committee members have equal voting rights, with the exception of the Chair, who has an additional casting vote, should this be needed.